SIVA SAMOA IN FRANKFURT

Interpretations of a Samoan dance between generations – an artistic homage

“For me this project is the completion of a circle that started with my mother and her Siva Samoa, it will end with my sister paying homage to my mother and our heritage with her evolution of our mother's practice in Ufitia’s contemporary Samoan Siva”
(Raymond Sagapolute, 2019).

PHOTOGRAPHIC WORKS IN THE EXHIBITION

The current exhibition GREY IS THE NEW PINK displays photographic works from the year 2012 by the Auckland, New Zealand born, Samoan artist Raymond Sagapolutele. His works “Siva Samoa” and “Poly Swag” capture his mother and sister performing a traditional Samoan dance – the Siva Samoa. The works highlight the respective interpretation of the dance that mother and sister partake in, especially in regards to the interpretation within the nuclear family. The artistic works reflect the differences between the traditional Samoan dance and the contemporary urban dance culture of Samoans in the context of New Zealand migration. While Sagapolutele’s mother presents the traditional dance, his sister Ufitia leans on hip hop and introduces modern elements into her dance performance. The pictures document the passing of knowledge within a family; however, they also credit one’s own freedom of interpretation in newer generations.

Above all, the photographic works claim a stronger, more personal meaning for the artist and his family as his mother passed away only three months after the completion of “Siva Samoa”. Thus, the works are also to be understood as rendering homage to his mother.

PERFORMANCE AT THE MUSEUM EMBARKMENT FESTIVAL

On the occasion of the exhibition GREY IS THE NEW PINK coming to an end and the annual Museum Embarkment Festival, Raymond Sagapolutele and his sister Ufitia will return to the Welkulturen Museum in Frankfurt to posthumously honor their mother in a ceremonial dance performance and ultimately, ritually articulate a farewell to the exhibition. After her master’s thesis in Performing Arts in 2018, Ufitia has intensely studied traditional variations of Samoan dance and herself performed choreographies of her works in various Pacific dance and culture festivals in New Zealand and on tours in Asia.

For the ceremonial homage and to pay her respects to her late mother, Ufitia has choreographed a contemporary take on the traditional Siva Samoa, which she’ll be performing with the support of two dancers in the exhibition rooms of the Weltkulturen Museum.

This performance intends to combine the mother’s traditional dance with the contemporary twist of the daughter to purpose homage to the late mother. The joint cultural heritage thus is picked up by the children and further developed artistically. In regards to his sister’s dance performance “Tofa Si O’u Tina – Farewell to my Mother”, the brother’s photographs become performance art. 

Furthermore, in line with the Museumsuferfest, Ufitia will be hosting a workshop regarding the tradition and contemporary variations of Samoan dance. Raymond Sagapolutele himself, along with the curator Matthias Claudius Hofmann, will give a guided tour in the exhibition.

The process and execution of the artist’s project will be recorded by film director Jerry Tauamiti and his cameraman and assistant Samson Rambo to result in a documentary.

Participants:

RAYMOND SAGAPOLUTELE, Samoan artist and photographer born in New Zealand. Member of the graffiti collective TMD. He lives and works in Auckland, New Zealand.

UFITIA 'TIA' SAGAPOLUTELE, dancer, choreographer, and producer with a hip hop background. She’s currently a project coordinator for Dance Aotearoa New Zealand (DANZ).

LYNCIA MULLER, dancer with a strong background in traditional Pacific dance, hip hop, and contemporary dance.

NATALIA IOANE, dancer with a background in traditional Samoan dance, such as Siva Samoa, Taualuga, and Sasa.

JERRY TAUAMITI, Auckland based, freelance film and TV director. Co-founder of Malosi Pictures.

SAMSON RAMBO, camera man.

Follow us on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter to stay tuned about the visit!

SIVA SAMOA IN FRANKFURT

Interpretationen eines samoanischen Tanzes zwischen den Generationen - eine künstlerische Hommage

“Dieses Projekt ist für mich die Vollendung eines Zyklus der mit dem Siva Samoa meiner Mutter begann und nun mit der Tanz-Performance meiner Schwester als eine Hommage an unsere Mutter und unser gemeinsames kulturelles Erbe durch Ufitias Weiterentwicklung des Tanzes unserer Mutter in einer zeitgenössischen Siva Samoa-Form endet“
(Raymond Sagapolute, 2019).

DIE FOTOARBEITEN IN DER AUSSTELLUNG

Die in der Ausstellung GREY IS THE NEW PINK gezeigten, 2012 entstandenen Fotoarbeiten des in Auckland, Neuseeland lebenden samoanischen Künstlers Raymond Sagapolutele „Siva Samoa“ und „Poly Swag“ zeigen Mutter und Schwester jeweils beim Tanzen eines traditionellen samoanischen Tanzes – des Siva Samoa. Es handelt sich um die jeweilige Interpretation des Tanzes durch zwei Tänzerinnen – Mutter und Tochter – innerhalb der eigenen Familie. Auch reflektieren die Werke die Unterschiede zwischen traditionellem samoanischem Tanz und zeitgenössischer urbaner Tanzkultur von Samoanerinnen in der neuseeländischen Migration. Während die Mutter die traditionelle Tanzart präsentiert, bezieht seine Schwester Ufitia Sagapolutele in „Poly Swag“ moderne, aus dem Hip-Hop entlehnte Tanzelemente mit ein. Die Bilder dokumentieren die Wissensweitergabe innerhalb einer Familie, unterstreichen aber auch die eigene Interpretationsfreiheit der neuen Generation.

Darüber hinaus erhielt die Fotoarbeit noch eine stärkere persönliche Bedeutung für den Künstler und seine Familie, nachdem drei Monate nach Fertigstellung von „Siva Samoa“ Sagapoluteles Mutter verstarb. Das Werk ist daher auch als eine Hommage an seine Mutter zu verstehen

PERFORMANCE AUF DEM MUSEUMSUFERFEST

Zum Ende der Ausstellung GREY IS THE NEW PINK wird Raymond Sagapolutele zum Anlass des diesjährigen Museumsuferfestes gemeinsam mit seiner Schwester Ufitia an das Weltkulturen Museum nach Frankfurt zurückkehren, um in einer zeremoniellen Tanzperformance ihre Mutter in Form des Bildes sowie die Ausstellung selbst rituell zu verabschieden.

Ufitia hat sich, nach Fertigstellung ihrer Masterarbeit in Performing Arts 2018, intensiv mit traditionellen Formen samoanischen Tanzes beschäftigt und Choreographien ihrer Arbeiten auf verschiedenen pazifischen Tanz- und Kulturfestivals in Neuseeland und auf Tourneen in Asien aufgeführt. Für die zeremonielle Verabschiedung und Respektsbezeugung gegenüber ihrer Mutter hat Ufitia einen traditionellen Siva Samoa in einer zeitgenössischen Form choreographiert, die sie unterstützt von zwei Tänzerinnen in den Ausstellungsräumen des Weltkulturen Museums in der Performance „Tofa Si O’u Tina – Farewell to my Mother“ zur Aufführung bringen wird.

Diese Performance soll in der Verbindung der traditionellen Tanzform der Mutter mit der modernen Form des Zeitgenössischen Tanzes der Tochter eine Hommage an die Mutter und das gemeinsame kulturelle Erbe sein, das von den Kindern aufgenommen und künstlerisch weiterentwickelt wird. Die Fotokunst des Bruders wird somit in der Tanzdarbietung der Schwester zur Performance-Kunst.

Weiterhin wird Ufitia im Rahmen des Museumsuferfestes einen Workshop zu traditionellen und zeitgenössischen Formen des samoanischen Tanzes anbieten und Raymond Sagapolutele führt mit Kustos Matthias Claudius Hofmann durch die Ausstellung.

Prozess und Durchführung des Projektes werden durch den Künstler gemeinsam mit dem Filmregisseur Jerry Tauamiti und dessen Kameramann und Assistenten Samson Rambo in Form einer Filmdokumentation aufgezeichnet.

Beteiligte:

RAYMOND SAGAPOLUTELE, in Neuseeland geborener samoanischer Künstler und Fotograf und Mitglied des Graffiti-Kollektivs TMD. Er lebt und arbeitet in Auckland, Neuseeland.

UFITIA 'TIA' SAGAPOLUTELE, Tänzerin, Choreographin und Produzentin mit einem Background in Hip-Hop.  Sie arbeitet zurzeit als Projektkoordinatorin für Dance Aotearoa New Zealand (DANZ).

LYNCIA MULLER, Tänzerin mit starkem Background in traditionellem pazifischem Tanz, Hip-hop und zeitgenössischem Tanz.

NATALIA IOANE, Tänzerin mit Background in traditionellem samoanischem Tanz, wie Siva Samoa, Taualuga und Sasa

JERRY TAUAMITI, in Auckland lebender freischaffender Film- und Fernsehregisseur und Mitbegründer von Malosi Pictures.

SAMSON RAMBO, Kameramann

Verfolgen Sie den Besuch der Künstler*innen auf Instagram, Facebook und Twitter!