„WOMEN ARE BLESSED, WOMEN ARE COMPLETE, WOMEN ARE BEAUTIFUL”

In blue capital letters, this sentence is printed on a poster of the Anishinabe artist Leland bell in the exhibition “POSTED! Reflections of native North America”. His paintings show stylized human figures, picking up themes such as caring, sharing, learning, peace and serenity. In the exhibition, his poster is just one of many in which indigenous people use the medium to formulate a request to  recognize the value of indigenous women, while they at the same time highlight existing grievances.

WOMEN AND MYTHOLOGY

In pre-colonial times there was a close connection between mythical legends and real life in indigenous North America: an essential basis was the equal status of men and women in society. Women were not only respected in all indigenous tribes of North America, but also a special power in society was attributed to them. For example, according to the Navajo creation myth, only together the masculine and feminine can balance the universe.

In order to ensure survival, both sexes had to ‘lend a hand’ in pre-colonial times and were dependent on each other. A gender-specific division of labor separated the work areas of men and women. The idea of a ‘superior’ male gender came only with the arrival of Europeans and resulted in violence against women. The positive attitude towards women was weakened by the colonization as well as the indigenous identity as a whole. The current recognition of power of indigenous women is thus also a small step for Native Americans in regaining their own indigenous identity. 

Mythical traditions of the Lakota show: women were highly respected here in in pre-European times and took an important position in society. Two of these mythical female characters are White Buffalo Calf Woman and Double Face Woman. In POSTED! Their stories can be read on the beautiful posters of the Lakota artist Vic Runnels, one of the most famous Lakota artists of the 20th century.

„WHY SHOULD ANY INDIAN WOMAN HAVE TO BLEACH HER HAIR TO BE ACCEPTED?“

The indigenous philanthropist and singer Buffy Saint-Marie sums up today’s difficult living conditions of indigenous women within the national society in a single sentence – to read on the reproduction of a photography taken by Betty Hunter: “Why should any Indian woman have to bleach her hair to be accepted?” In comparison to white women, they are institutionally disadvantaged and more often victims of violent crimes. The influence of European beauty ideals such has light hair weakened the identity of indigenous people and changed the position of women in orientation to European role models.

POSTED!

Curated by anthropologist Markus Lindner and students of the Goethe-Universität Frankfurt, the exhibition POSTED! shows various attempts to use poster art on walls and advertising pillars to portray indigenous living environments and denounce discrimination.

Get an insight into their research on Instagram and let the students tell you the stories of the posters themselves in a guided tour!

„WOMEN ARE BLESSED, WOMEN ARE COMPLETE, WOMEN ARE BEAUTIFUL”

In blauen Großbuchstaben steht dieser Schriftzug auf einem Plakat des Anishinabe-Künstlers Leland Bell in der Ausstellung „PLAKATIERT! Reflexionen des indigenen Nordamerika“. Seine Gemälde zeigen stilisierte menschliche Figuren, die Themen wie Pflege, Teilen, Lernen, Frieden und Gelassenheit aufgreifen. In der Ausstellung ist sein Plakat nur eines unter vielen, in welchen Indigene das Medium nutzen, um Aufforderungen zu formulieren, den Wert indigener Frauen anzuerkennen, während sie gleichzeitig bis heute bestehende Missstände aufzeigen.

FRAUEN UND MYTHOLOGIE

In vorkolonialer Zeit bestand zwischen mythischen Legenden und dem realen Leben im indigenen Nordamerika eine enge Verbindung: Eine wesentliche Grundlage bildete die gleichberechtigte Stellung von Männern und Frauen in der Gesellschaft. Frauen wurden in allen indigenen Stämmen Nordamerikas nicht nur geachtet, sondern man schrieb ihnen eine besondere Macht in der Gesellschaft zu. Laut dem Schöpfungsmythos der Navajo etwa können nur das Männliche und das Weibliche gemeinsam das Universum im Gleichgewicht halten.

Um das Überleben zu sichern, mussten in vorkolonialer Zeit  beide Geschlechter gleichermaßen ‚mit anpacken‘ und waren aufeinander angewiesen. Die geschlechterspezifische Arbeitsteilung trennte die Arbeitsbereiche von Männern und Frauen. Die Vorstellung eines ‚überlegenen‘ männlichen Geschlechts kam erst mit Ankunft der Europäer auf und mündete in Gewalt gegen Frauen. Die positive Einstellung gegenüber Frauen wurde durch die Kolonialisierung ebenso geschwächt wie die indigene Identität insgesamt. Die heutige Zuerkennung von Macht an indigene Frauen ist somit auch ein kleiner Schritt, die eigene indigene Identität wiederzuerlangen.

In mythischen Überlieferungen der Lakota zeigt sich: Frauen wurden hier in voreuropäischer Zeit hoch respektiert und nahmen eine wichtige gesellschaftliche Stellung ein. Zwei dieser mythischen Frauenfiguren sind White Buffalo Calf Woman und Double Face Woman. In PLAKATIERT! sind ihre Geschichten auf den wunderschönen Plakaten des Lakota-Künstlers Vic Runnels nachzulesen, einem der bekanntesten Lakota-Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts.

„WHY SHOULD ANY INDIAN WOMAN HAVE TO BLEACH HER HAIR TO BE ACCEPTED?“

Die indigene Philanthropin und Sängerin Buffy Saint-Marie bringt mit einem einzigen Satz - zu lesen auf der Reproduktion eines von Betty Hunter aufgenommenen Fotos - die heutigen schwierigen Lebensumstände indigener Frauen innerhalb der Nationalgesellschaft auf den Punkt: „Why should any Indian woman have to bleach her hair to be accepted?“ Sie werden im Vergleich zu weißen Frauen institutionell benachteiligt und außerdem häufiger Opfer von Gewaltverbrechen. Auch durch den Einfluss europäischer Schönheitsideale wie helles Haar wurde die Identität Indigener geschwächt und die Stellung der Frau in Orientierung an europäischen Rollenmodellen abgewandelt.

PLAKATIERT!

Kuratiert vom Ethnologen Markus Lindner und Studierenden der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt finden sich in der Ausstellung PLAKATIERT! unterschiedlichste Versuche, durch Plakatkunst an Wänden und Litfaßsäulen indigene Lebenswelten darzustellen und Diskriminierung anzuprangern.

Bekommt einen Einblick in ihre Recherchen auf Instagram und lasst euch in einer Führung von den Studierenden die Geschichten der Plakate erzählen!